Archives

Basic Bible Study
10:15-10:45 a.m.
Bagby Parish Hall

“Being the Body”

Part of being a Christian is being called into community with others. It is part of how we spiritually grow and help others to do so, and part of our witness to a world as we share God’s love. As we come back physically together as a church, our summer series will look at why our call to community is foundational, how we’re called to it and how God might want to shape us in in our communities to reflect his love and glory. We will draw from the book, Called to Community, a collection of 52 writings about how we might live a shared life in Christ more fully.

Unity with the Rev. Dr. Russell J. Levenson, Jr. – Sunday, June 6
Pentecost with the Rev. Dick Elwood – Sunday, June 13
Counter-culture with the Rev. Dr. Chad T. Martin – Sunday, June 20
Hospitality with the Rev. Jane P. Ferguson – Sunday, June 27
Irritations with the Rev. Robert E. Wareing – Sunday, July 11
Beyond Self with the Rev. Sharron L.Cox – Sunday, July 18
Submission with the Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay, Ph.D. – Sunday, July 25
Money with the Rev. Nick R.D. Dyke – Sunday, Aug. 1
Money with the Rev. Lisa R. Neilson – Sunday, Aug. 8
Forgiveness with the Rev. John R. Bentley, Jr. – Sunday, Aug. 15

Basic Bible Study
Distributed via email Sundays

To receive emails for this Bible study, email hidden; JavaScript is required and send your name and email address.

“Deeper”

We know how to “say our prayers,” but do we know how to hear from God? Wrestle with God? Abide in God? This series will dig deeper into five aspects of prayer and offer practical advice on how to go deeper in communion with God by His Spirit.

Talking to God (How to Pray) – Sunday, April 25
Listening to God (How to Hear God’s Voice) – Sunday, May 2
Abiding with God (How to Practice the Presence of God) – Sunday, May 9
Wrestling with God (How to Struggle with God) – Sunday, May 16
Interceding with God (How to Pray for Others) – Sunday, May 23

Basic Bible Study
Distributed via email Sundays

To receive emails for this Bible study, email hidden; JavaScript is required and send your name and email address.

“Big Beliefs for Real Life: Journeying from ‘Creation to New Creation’”

This series will take us through big beliefs of faith, using the book Café Theology to consider the big story of God and how it affects our smaller stories of faith.

Creation – Sunday, January 10
The Fall – Sunday, January 17
Providence – Sunday, January 24
Incarnation – Sunday, February 7
Atonement – Sunday, February 14
Resurrection – Sunday, February 28
The Role of the Spirit – Sunday, March 7
The Trinity: God the Three-in-One – Sunday, March 21
The Lamb Wins – The Final Victory of God – Sunday, April 11
Christ’s Earthly Body – The Church – Sunday, April 18

Basic Bible Study
Distributed via email Sundays, Dec. 6-20

To receive All-Parish emails, including this study, email hidden; JavaScript is required and send your name and email address.

“What Are You Hoping For?”

What are you waiting for? What are you anticipating that will ‘fix’ whatever feels broken right now? 2020 has, in many ways, been a test of patience and hope. Advent is also a season of waiting: we await the arrival of our long-hoped for Messiah. This series will reflect on three images of Jesus as our Messiah: He is our Divine Rescuer, Divine King and Divine Husband. Each of these depictions of our Lord offers us the real hope we have that doesn’t just ‘fix’ things, but can transform our lives—as well as our expectations for tomorrow.

Week 1 – Sunday, December 6
Week 2 – Sunday, December 13
Week 3 – Sunday, December 20

Basic Bible Study
Distributed via email Sundays, Sep. 13-Nov. 22

To receive All-Parish emails, including this study, email hidden; JavaScript is required and send your name and email address.

“The Ten Commandments as Jesus Taught Them”

What do Christians do? Have you ever realized that the Ten Commandments are important for us as people of the New Testament? But how do they impact discipleship? Jesus spent a lot of time instructing his disciples and a lot of this was based on these famous commands God gave Moses. This series will look at how the Ten Commandments as fulfilled and expanded through Jesus teaching and so give us a clear vision for how Jesus calls us to live our lives.  Links to a video and study guide will be emailed each week on Sunday morning.

Introduction – Sunday, September 13
The First Commandment – Sunday, September 20
The Second Commandment – Sunday, September 27
The Third Commandment – Sunday, October 4
The Fourth Commandment – Sunday, October 11
The Fifth Commandment – Sunday, October 18
The Sixth Commandment – Sunday, October 25
The Seventh Commandment – Sunday, November 1
The Eighth Commandment – Sunday, November 8
The Ninth Commandment – Sunday, November 15
The Tenth Commandment – Sunday, November 22

Philippians: A Letter for Stressful Times

Philippians 4: A Letter for Stressful Times
The Rev. Alex D. Graham III

1 Thessalonians: A Letter for a Time of Waiting

1 Thessalonians: Chapter 5
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

1 Thessalonians: Chapter 4
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

1 Thessalonians: Chapter 4
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

1 Thessalonians: Chapters 2 and 3
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

1 Thessalonians: Chapter 2
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

2 Thessalonians: A Letter of Hope and Resilience

2 Thessalonians: Chapter 3
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

2 Thessalonians: Chapter 2
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

2 Thessalonians: Chapter 1
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

Deuteronomy: A Book for a Time of Transition

Deuteronomy: Chapter 29 and Conclusion
The Rev. Dr. Jenny Corcoran

Deuteronomy: Chapter 26
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

Deuteronomy: Chapter 24
The Rev. Dr. Jenny Corcoran

Deuteronomy: Chapter 17
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

Deuteronomy: Chapters 14 and 16
The Rev. Dr. Jenny Corcoran

Deuteronomy: Chapter 12
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

Deuteronomy: Chapter 10
The Rev. Dr. Jenny Corcoran

Deuteronomy: Chapter 6
The Rev. Dr. Jenny Corcoran

Deuteronomy: Chapter 4
The Rev. Dr. Suse E. McBay

Deuteronomy: Chapter 1
The Rev. Dr. Jenny Corcoran